Back Again

Where have I been? I’m now on my second year of working on my doctorate in Physical Therapy. To say I’ve learned a lot is like saying it’s hot here in Houston during the summer. It’s a true statement, but not one that gives you any insight on just how intense that reality is. But not all that I’ve learned has been in the classroom. In fact, only a small majority of what I have is.

I’ve learned the secret of success: your mindset. What you think about everything affects every aspect of your life: your health, your finances, your relationships, your spiritual life, etc. It’s what can set you apart, or allow you to fade into the masses. It can either drive you to keep reaching, or be content with where you are. 

Having mastery over my mindset is not something I pretend to have. But it’s something I am striving for. I am convinced that if you grow yourself as a person, the other pieces of your life that are within your control will fall into place.

What does it mean to grow yourself? That may depend on what area of your life you need to grow in. It could be discipline, forgiveness, persistence, responsibility, love, selflessness, courage, or whatever else you may desire in yourself. Yes, it might sound cheesy. But I am only interested in finding out what is true.

If you get your mind right, the rest will follow.

For example, learning to have a healthy relationship with food will naturally lead you to a healthier diet based on love for yourself that is maintainable over time. Focusing on numbers and images and strict rules can lead to a love-hate relationship that can be full of yo-yo dieting and insecurities that are crippling.

So you know what? I don’t want this blog to just be about eating this, and exercising that way. This is about my journey towards a healthier me in every aspect of my life. There are a lot of things that I need to learn about growing myself. I’m not a guru, I’m just someone who is trying to figure it out as I go. This is about the lessons I learn along the way.

Sure, my posts may still be sporadic. And my opinions may change about certain topics, because I find that the more exposure I have to a variety of viewpoints, the more things I have to take into account. I might talk about my faith as a Christian unapologetically, because that is the core of what makes me who I am. And I’m still a giant goofball. Consider yourself warned.

Additionally, my writing style may change. I may write from a third person point of view, because I don’t want this to be centered around me. Because I don’t believe myself to be unique in wanting to be on a quest for self-improvement. I’m not writing to draw attention to myself, because for all I know, I may be the only one reading this. But that’s okay. Because this is how I organize my own thoughts and keep myself in check. But if it helps someone else out along the way, then that’s just a bonus.

This life is meant to be so much more than a sleep-wake cycle. It is a beautiful adventure waiting to happen, no matter how old or young you are. Today is the beginning of the rest of my life. Our life. Your life.

Leave a Reply

