Mediterranean Quinoa Burgers

Mediterranean Quinoa BurgersY’all, I have some wonderful news: I’m an aunt! My precious little nephew was born last Saturday, and he’s captured my heart ever since. Luckily I got to take some time off work to go up to see him, since my sister and her husband live about ten hours away if you drive. But they still live in Texas. Yes…Texas is huge.

So I’m up here with my sister holding my little nephew every chance I get. They live in a beautiful neighborhood, so when he’s being fed or being held by someone else, I’ve been running and working out with my homemade suspension trainer.

But, please beware of flat sidewalks. They really are deceiving. I, being my usual graceful self, managed to do a fancy tap number after stubbing my toe while running and just barely had enough time to leap off to the side so I could make my crash landing in the soft grass.

Umph!” There I am, sprawled out across some random person’s lawn because I couldn’t manage a tuck-and-roll, hoping with all my might that the neighbors aren’t looking out their windows right now. But then the thought of people enjoying their breakfast with a show made me erupt in a fit of giggles as I ran away, so I’m pretty sure everyone thinks I’m mentally unbalanced.

I don’t really get embarrassed that easily. But I can’t say that I’ve been down that particular sidewalk recently. Oh well! I escaped without a scratch.

So after going off on that little tangent, let’s get back to the point. Actually, let’s just plain get to the point, because I haven’t even mentioned the name of this delicious recipe: Mediterranean Quinoa Burgers.

O.M.G. These are amazing! This recipe came from Well Plated (which you should check out). They’re good hot and cold, filling, and so healthy! They don’t leave you feeling weighed down like ground beef can, and yet have plenty of protein from the quinoa and chickpeas. Plus, the flavor…my mouth is watering right now. I would take these over ground beef any day. Plus, you don’t need a grill, which is great because my sister and brother-in-law don’t have one! So let’s get to it!

Mediterranean Quinoa Burgers

Burgers

  • ½ cup uncooked quinoa, millet, farro or similar grain (I used quinoa)
  • ¼ cup chopped sundried tomatoes (not olive packed)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • ½ tsp kosher salt
  • ½ tsp dried oregano
  • ¼ tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 large egg
  • ¼ cup crumbled feta cheese, plus additional for serving
  • 1 Tb minced fresh parsley
  • 1 Tb finely chopped fresh basil
  • Olive oil, for cooking the burgers
  • Whole wheat buns, for serving

Tomato Olive Topping

  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • ¼ cup pitted Kalamata olives, diced
  • 1 Tb chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 Tb chopped fresh basil
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar or lemon juice (I used red wine vinegar)
  1. Cook quinoa according to package directions. Set it aside.
  2. Place sundried tomatoes in a small boil and cover with very hot water. Let stand for at least 5 minutes to rehydrate, drain, and set aside.
  3. In food processor, combine quinoa, chickpeas, oats, garlic, salt, oregano, and pepper. Process until the mixture is nicely ground and blended. Add the egg, then pulse a few times until the egg is combined with the chickpea mixture (it should look like thick, chunky hummus). Transfer the mixture to a large mixing bowl, then gently fold in drained sundried tomatoes, feta, parsley, and basil. Form the burgers into 6 patties. If not cooking immediately, place patties in refrigerator.
  4. In a small mixing bowl, stir together the cherry tomatoes, olives, parsley, basil, and vinegar.photo 1
  5. To cook the patties, heat a large skillet on medium with plenty of olive oil. Cook the patties on each side, until both sides are browned and patties are cooked through (8ish minutes total).photo 2
  6. Serve on toasted buns, topped with tomato olive mixture and additional feta cheese if you please! Also, watch out for those sidewalks!photo 5
Leave a Reply

