Change of Plans

Right now I am currently sitting at the kitchen table, preparing for the day. Thirty minutes ago, I was planning on going on a run and starting my day off with a bang.

Then I looked outside and heard a different kind of bang: thunder. Lightning lit up the sky like some sort of mad scientist experiment. And although I love running in the rain, I prefer coffee to being struck by lightning for a morning pick-me-up.

So here I am, preparing for a busy day and a little bit frustrated with the change of plans. Why? Because there’s a good chance that I’ll skip my workout entirely, just like I did the two days before. Whoop, there it is! Yes, it’s confession time!

So what do you do when something (or someone) disrupts your workout? How do you make sure not to just brush it off and not do it that day? Well, after just admitting that I’ve already skipped a few workout days, I’m not exactly an expert on this. BUT, here are things I’ve done in the past that helped me when I would have skipped, but didn’t:

  1. If you have to postpone your workout, you could do this by just letting someone know what your plans are, so that they can remind you. What works even better for me is finding someone to work out with you later. If you’re used to routine, changing it can be hard even for someone who has worked out for a while, so it’s good to find some social support.
  2. Set an alarm, or two, or five when you want to workout. Schedule it out. If you just have a general idea of what you want to do, it’s so much easier to shirk it off until suddenly you have lost your opportunity. Plan your workout ahead of time. It can be flexible to change, but if you think you’ll just make it up as you go, you probably won’t even go. Not planning typically means it’s easier for you to say let’s not and say we did.
  3. Be flexible. If you can’t run outside like me, maybe you can do some kind of interval training indoors. There are lots of videos you can find for free online if you don’t want to plan your workout. Maybe the morning and night are the only times of day cool enough to be outside but you don’t have those hours available. Again, try an at-home workout. If it’s available to you, try to make it to a gym or swimming pool.

Also, remember that it is important to rest as well. Your body needs time to recover and rebuild itself. Rest days are not the same thing as days you skip workouts. Rest is extremely important! Overtraining can actually be detrimental to your health and set you back in your fitness goals. More is not always better. Be smart and listen to your body.

Be sure and share any tips that have worked for you as well!

Leave a Reply

