Black Bean Avocado Brownies

Mother’s Day is just around the corner, isn’t it? It’s the one day out of the entire year that we stop to honor the women who are on the job 24/7 every day of their children’s lives. Whew! I don’t know about you, but my mom deserves some extra recognition for raising a child like me. Praise the Lord we both survived just fine!

There was one night, however, when I saw my life flash before my eyes. I’ve always been a klutz, and childhood was no exception. So knocking over a full glass of grape juice during dinner isn’t out of the norm, you see? One such night, I watched it pour across the table, down the table cracks, and drop steadily over the side onto the floor.

The rest of the family jumped back from the table and rushed to clean the mess I made, throwing paper towels back and forth to each other like it was a sport. So what was my third grade self’s contribution?

I went to pour myself another glass. Another glass of beautiful, purple grape juice, filled to the top.

Walking carefully to the kitchen table through the hustle and bustle of people cleaning up my own mess, I set my glass on the table. And then I spilled my glass again…onto my poor mother’s head as she kneeled under the table mopping up grape juice puddles.

Why is it that things only seem to happen in slow motion after you realize you made a mistake and not before? As the glass tipped over on its side, I watched in horror as purple grape juice ran in streams down my mom’s beautiful blonde hair.

There was a pause. Everyone held their breath, eyes wide. No one moved.

I swear I could see steam rising from my mom’s head. For my own safety, my dad quickly suggested that I go to my room, which I readily agreed to. I don’t think I’ve been a big fan of grape juice since then.

So if you have a mother like mine who deserves the world, why not make her these super healthy brownies? I found this recipe on Ambitious Kitchen, and decided to give them a shot. They are so fudgy and dense, and absolutely delicious. Especially if you keep them in the fridge! Give these gluten free brownies a try! While you’re at it, check out her other stuff! She’s got a neat site.

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 oz) can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 large egg whites
  • ½ of a large extra ripe avocado
  • 1 tsp coconut of olive oil
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • ½ cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips of choice, plus 2 Tb for topping

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease an 8×8 baking pan.
  2. Put all the ingredients except for the chocolate chips into a blender or food processor and blend until it forms a smooth batter. If the batter is too thick you can add in a tsp or so of water, but it needs to be somewhat thick.
  3. Fold in 1/3 cup chocolate chips into the batter, and then pour batter into the pan. Sprinkle remaining chocolate chips on top. I didn’t do this, but you could even fold in nuts or swirl in peanut butter.
  4. Bake 25-35 min, or until a knife poked into the center comes out pretty clean and the tops of the brownies begin to crack.
  5. Let cool, then enjoy!photo 1photo 2
Leave a Reply

