Chicken Edamame Black Bean Salad

Chicken Edamame Black Bean SaladCollege has been a great time for me to try new foods that my parents never had around the house. For example, edamame. I absolutely love it. Once, I brought it home to my parents for them to try. If you’ve never seen edamame before, it’s a legume that looks like snow peas, only bigger. You’re supposed to shell them, but you can buy them already shelled for you. I had happened to buy edamame still in the pod and forget to mention to my dad how to eat them. He’s never really been a big fan of them since.

Edamame are actually just young soy beans, so they are softer and…let’s face it…edible. It has lots of fiber, vitamins, minerals, all that good stuff. What is unique about this is that it contains all essential amino acids a human needs that your body can’t make, which is rare in a plant product.. If you don’t eat meat and you’ve never tried edamame before, you may want to consider it.

I had a package of frozen, shelled edamame in the freezer and was wondering what in the world I could make with it that didn’t require a trip to the grocery store. So I started throwing some ingredients together, until one thing led to another, and eventually led to this. I’m not really even sure what to call this, but I do know that this was one of the quickest, easiest, and most filling recipes I’ve ever made up. It has a tiny bit of spice, but is countered by the sweetness of the raisins. There are also a large variety of textures in this that balance out. Since I made it up as I went, I can’t guarantee that the measurements are exact, so feel free to make your own adjustments according to your taste.

Ingredients

  • 3-4 chicken breast, cooked (I used Tyson’s frozen grilled chicken)
  • 1 pkg frozen shelled edamame
  • 1 can black beans
  • 2 cups rice, cooked (I used Minute Rice Whole Grain Medley)
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 2 jalapeños, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tb Worchestershire sauce
  • 2 Tb granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  1. Mix all the ingredients together! Boom, done.
  2. Enjoy! I like to eat this chilled with Triscuits or toasted pieces of tortillas. You can do as you please!
Leave a Reply

