Healthy St. Patrick’s Day Banana Ice Cream

Healthy St. Patrick's Day Banana Ice Cream

Have you ever had a fear of reading aloud in public? Like that you will stumble over your words or make a mistake in front of people? I don’t mind reading aloud if no one else is willing to, but last night I had this crazy dream that I was supposed to read a story out loud, and the struggle was I couldn’t figure out if I was supposed to read it in a normal accent, or an Irish one. I never figured it out, but I did wake up plenty anxious and confused. Those dreams, they sure get you. I love it when I remember my dreams, because they make me laugh. But this one had the added benefit of reminding me about St. Patrick’s Day!

Lots of St. Patrick’s Day recipes I’ve seen revolve around Guinness beer, potatoes, and Irish Soda Bread. However, I wanted to try something a little more fun that would be on the lighter side! And you know what? Ice cream seemed like just the thing….banana ice cream that is.

You may have seen this banana ice cream before; it’s all over the internet. Basically, the ice cream is made from frozen bananas, and you can add in whatever you want to it to flavor it. I like adding Greek yogurt also because it makes the texture smoother while adding some extra protein to the mix. Sometimes I even like to add spinach for some added nutrients. Spinach doesn’t have as strong a taste as kale does, but is still jam-packed with nutrients like Vitamins K and A, Manganese, Folate, Magnesium, and Iron for very little calories. Plus it adds extra fiber to your diet. So if you wanna see green on St. Patty’s day, why not try this?

Healthy St. Patrick’s Day Banana Ice Cream

  • 2 handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt (non fat plain)
  • 2 frozen bananas (slice your bananas before you freeze them to make it easier)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Chocolate chips
  • 1 Tbs ground flax meal (optional)
  1. Put spinach, frozen banana, and Greek yogurt in blender and mix until well blended. You will have to keep stopping the blender to push the ingredients down on the sides.
  2. Add vanilla extract and flax meal. Pour into bowl and stir in chocolate chips. Eat up!

You can eat this right away to enjoy like soft serve ice cream or freeze it for later. However, if you freeze it, you will need to let it sit out for a while to thaw, because it’s harder to scoop out than regular ice cream. Also, feel free to try other variations of this. Add cocoa powder, or maybe even peppermint extract for a shamrock smoothie taste. Experiment and have fun! Oh, and Happy St. Patricks Day! Maybe you’ll have weird dreams like me about talking in Irish accents.

Leave a Reply

