Lemon Pepper Chicken and Asparagus

Lemon-Pepper Chicken and Asparagus
Lemon-Pepper Chicken and Asparagus

I try to make grocery lists and plan out meals for the week, but something happens every time I go to the grocery store. It’s like this whole new world of possibilities has wiped all plans out of my mind. Certain foods that I planned to get lose their luster, while others (that I usually have no idea what to do with) shout, “Pick me! Pick me!” And then I come home and look and what I’ve bought, wondering how in the world to make a complete meal out of my options.

But still, sometimes you just have to go for it when certain foods are on sale. Like how asparagus was mega-on-sale last time I went and I bought two bunches. But guess what? I made up a really, super easy, super healthy recipe that actually tastes DELICIOUS! I call it Lemon Pepper Chicken and Asparagus because I’m really creative but didn’t want to wear it out so that I have some creativity left over for the next recipe.

Asparagus is an excellent source of vitamin B6, calcium, zinc, and magnesium, along with fiber. Throwing this in with just some garlic, onions, chicken, and olive oil gives you a recipe that is naturally gluten-free and lactose-free. Oh, and Paleo too, I guess!

To prepare the asparagus, cut off the bottom inch of each stalk and discard. Then chop the stalks up into thirds and place in large pot to steam. I don’t have a coliander, so I just put about a half-inch of water in the pot with the asparagus and cooked it on medium for about three minutes, or until soft. Then I poured out the asparagus into a strainer.

photo 1-1

The chicken I cubed into 1-inch pieces and put in a large skillet with some olive oil and minced garlic. Cook it until the chicken is almost done and then add the onion so it softens.

photo 2-1

Add the asparagus, along with a little salt and lemon pepper, stirring it around for a couple of minutes. Vwa-laa! All done!

photo 3-1

Lemon Pepper Chicken and Asparagus

  • 2-3 raw chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1 bunch asparagus,
  • ½ small onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp lemon pepper seasoning
  • 3 Tbs olive oil
  1. Cut off bottom inch of each asparagus stalk and discard pieces. Cut stalks into thirds and place in large pot. Fill pot with enough water to fill bottom with ¼ to ½ inch of water. Heat on medium for about 3 minutes or until asparagus is tender.
  2. Combine chicken, olive oil, and garlic into large skillet and cook on medium high heat until chicken is cooked. Add onion to sauté it. Add asparagus, salt, and lemon pepper to skillet and stir it around for a few minutes.
  3. Serve it up! Yum!
Leave a Reply

