Lentil Granola Bars

Lentil Granola Bars

Got lentils? I sure did. When I made those Lentil-Chickpea Burgers last time, I had cooked extra lentils to use for something else. Problem was, I didn’t know what else to make, so I thought I would experiment a bit. That’s when I came across this Lentil Energy Bar recipe from BS’ in the Kitchen, and I knew I had to give them a try!

These granola bars called for a lot of things I didn’t have, such as almond flour and coconut, but since I’m on a pretty tight budget, I used what I had and altered the recipe a bit. But the same concept applies for my recipe: if you don’t have/like something I’m using, try something different. Say you hate chocolate. Just omit the cocoa powder and use a different flavored protein powder. Try vanilla and add cinnamon and pecans for more of a cinnamon roll flavor. Play up a fruitier flavor with fruit flavored protein powder and add dried fruit. It’s not going to mess up the recipe as long as you like the flavor. Cooking should be fun! Live on the edge! I mean, we already threw lentils in the mix, so why not?

Now to get to the actual recipe.

Since I already had cooked lentils at the ready, I was a little bit ahead of the power curve, but that’s the first thing you’ll want to do. Then I added in the flax seed, chai seed, mixed nuts, rolled oats, cocoa powder, and protein powder and chocolate chips. Mix those up real nice and you’re almost halfway there!

photo 2

Next up, combine the peanut butter and honey in a medium saucepan and put it on medium heat, stirring often. You’ll know its ready when it combines into this beautiful, gold liquid that drips off the spoon.

photo 3photo 4

Fun fact: the original recipe has you add the cocoa powder and chocolate chips at this point, but I got overzealous and had already added them to the mix. But when you pour the liquid over the dry ingredients (as in, this is the next step of the recipe, so do it), it melts the chocolate together anyways. Problem solved. You can do either way.

Next I scooped the mixture into an 8×8 square pan and put it in the freezer for at least three hours so that it could set. Once that’s done, take them out and cut them up! I cut mine into 2-inch squares so if I didn’t want a lot at once I would have better portion control. But I won’t tell you how many of those little squares I ate as I was cutting them up to put in a container. I lost count if I’m honest. What? They were really good!

photo 5

I’ve been keeping mine in the freezer since they’re pretty soft, but they would be fine in the fridge too. If you want them to be thicker, you can always add more rolled oats or dry ingredients. But just have fun! I’m sure whatever concoction you come up with will taste grand!

Lentil Granola Bars

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • ¾ cup honey
  • ½ cup chocolate chips
  • 1 Tbs cocoa powder
  • 2 cups cooked lentils
  • 4 Tbs ground flax seed
  • 2 Tbs chia seed
  • 4 scoops chocolate protein powder
  • ½ cup mixed nuts
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  1. Mix together lentils, flax seed, chia seed, protein powder, mixed nuts, cocoa powder, chocolate chips, and rolled oats in a large bowl.
  2. Combine peanut butter and honey in medium saucepan. Cook on medium, stirring constantly until it combines into a homogenous liquid that drips off your spoon. Pour it over your dry ingredients and mix well.
  3. Spoon into an 8×8 pan and place in freezer at least three hours to allow it to set. Cut into bars (or squares) and individually wrap each or store in container. Keep in fridge or freezer.
Leave a Reply

