Lentil-Chickpea Burgers with Avocado Yogurt Sauce

phonto

Do you remember high school biology, when your teacher talked about this little thing called photosynthesis? Basically, it’s the process of converting light energy into nutrients that allow them to grow. How cool would it be to be able to just soak in some sun to get energy? But then we wouldn’t need food. Just water. Hmm…yea I think I’m pretty happy with where we’re at now. If people used photosynthesis, we wouldn’t be motivated to try out crazy new recipes!

Speaking of crazy new recipes, how about lentil-chickpea burgers? Yes, you heard me right. No meat (I can hear the carnivores protesting), just good ole photosynthesis loving plants. Well, and eggs. Both lentils and chickpeas are a great source of protein and fiber, which means you stay full longer! They are also lactose-free and gluten-free! However, if you decide to make the avocado yogurt sauce with it, it is, of course, no longer lactose-free. But use some hummus instead! Or you can just use avocados to make a guacamole type topping!

I got this recipe from Weelicious and my-oh-my it’s delicious! But word of advice, you should check to make sure you actually have all the ingredients before embarking on a mission to make your kitchen look like the ground zero for World War III (Don’t worry, I cleaned everything up). I didn’t have the spices she used, so I experimented with my own. I also ate mine on a toasted whole-wheat English muffin, because they were on sale at H-E-B and I like them. Oh, and I used a red onion instead of a white onion because I had one that was going bad and didn’t want it to go to waste. It turned out pretty good though! Which is great because I have like five left over patties. The moral of the story is that it’s okay to experiment out of necessity!

To get started with the patties, I added the cooked lentils, chickpeas, onion, garlic, eggs, and old-fashioned oats to our blender and blended it up pretty well. Then I realized that I didn’t have the spices she used. So I added cayenne because I like spicy food. And then we had some Montreal Hamburger seasoning, so I was like, why not? Then in went the carrots and I blended it up some more!

Next, I got out a big skillet and heated up some olive oil. The original recipe called for forming the mixture into patties with floured hands, but after trying it with one, I decided it was a better used of my time to scoop out big spoonful’s on the skillet and smoosh them into patties. Yes, I know. I’m quite the gourmet chef.

It takes like five minutes on each side, so in between flips I worked on the avocado yogurt sauce. I just scooped the insides out of a ripe avocado (minus the seed), spooned out some Greek yogurt, sprinkled some salt, and a few squirts of lime juice (because I didn’t have lemon juice #testweek).

photo 1

This ended up making about eight normal size patties, but you can make them bigger or smaller depending on your preference. Put them on a toasted English muffin like me, a hamburger bun, or even in a pita. I don’t believe in rules when it comes to cooking.

photo 2

Lentil-Chickpea Burgers and Avocado Yogurt Sauce

  • 2 cups cooked green or brown lentils
  • ½ cup cooked chickpeas
  • ½ medium red onion, coarsely chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 large eggs
  • ½ cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 Tb Montreal Hamburger seasoning
  • 1 dash cayenne pepper
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 carrot, peeled and coarsely grated
  • olive oil for pan
  • ¼ cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 medium ripe avocado
  • dash of salt
  • splash of lime juice
  1. Add lentils, chickpeas, onion, garlic, eggs, oats, chili powder, paprika, and salt in bowl of blender or food processer and pulse until the consistency of thick, chunky hummus.
  2. Stir grated carrot into mixture.
  3. Scoop out large spoonful’s of mixture onto skillet with oil on medium-high heat and smoosh into patties. Cook five minutes on each side until crispy.
  4. In small bowl, stir together yogurt, avocado, salt, and lime juice until smooth and well combined. Top sauce on burgers and put on buns of your choice or by themselves!
Leave a Reply

