Spaghetti Squash Caprese Bake

phonto
When I was little, I hated zucchini. Even now, it still makes me nauseous to think about. I love trying new foods, and so every now and then I’ll give it another try, thinking, maybe this time I’ll like it! But it’s totally a mental thing.

Part of it may have something to do with the fact that the only time we ate it in my house was when my mom would sauté sliced zucchini till it was soft and top it with cheese. Which sounds good, right? Not when you’re six and texture means everything! I would ask you not to tell my mother in order to spare her feelings, but she’s known about my feelings towards this dish ever since it was my turn to bless the family dinner one night, and I prayed, “Thank you, God, for this yucky food.” I think I would have gotten in more trouble if it weren’t for the fact that my mom was trying so hard not to laugh. But if you’re around kids a lot, you know they are often painfully honest.

When spaghetti squash became a big hit on Pinterest, I was hesitant to try it. I’ve tried to avoid anything related to squash or zucchini ever since I started cooking for myself. But Spaghetti Squash was too good to pass up. Why? Well, maybe because you use it to make noodles out of a vegetable. Which means it has vitamins, minerals, fiber, AND fewer calories than traditional pasta. A one-cup serving of spaghetti squash only has 42 calories! Do me a favor and look at the nutritional box on a pasta box and see how it compares.

I found this delicious recipe at Pink Troll Kitchen. You should check it out if you get a chance! She has lots of recipes that are gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan without being too weird for people with fewer restrictions in their diet to enjoy them. This particular recipe seems like it should be a guilty pleasure with the baked cheese, but it’s still good for you!

To start off, I used the oven method. Preheat your oven to 375 and pierce the squash a few times with a sharp knife before putting it in a 9×13 pan to keep it from rolling. Cook it 1 hour 20 minutes, flipping halfway through. She also says you can stick it in the microwave 10-12 minutes after piercing it, but personally I think the oven makes it taste better and less crunchy.

photo 1

Once the squash is done, slice off one end and then cut it in half hot dog style. Scoop out the seeds and then fork the insides into a big bowl. It will naturally separate into “noodles.”

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

Add the rest of your ingredients except for ¼ cup of cheese and mix it well together. Spoon it into a greased pie pan or another oven-safe dish. Sprinkle it with the rest of your cheese.

photo 5

Bake it at 375 30-40 minutes or until cheese is lightly browned. Then enjoy! It’s good for you!

photo

Spaghetti Squash Caprese Bake

  • 1 large spaghetti squash
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1 handful fresh basil (I just used dried)
  • 1 overflowing handful fresh baby spinach, torn up
  • 2 Tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 cup + 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375. Pierce spaghetti squash several times with a sharp knife and place in a 9×13 dish or cookie sheet. Bake for 1 hour 20 minutes, flipping halfway through.

2. When spaghetti squash is finished, slice off one tip and then cut in half lengthways. Be careful, it will be hot! Scoop out seeds and use a fork to scrape out the “noodles” into a big bowl.

3. Add all other ingredients except for 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese. Stir together to mix well.

4. Transfer ingredients to a greased pie pan or similar sized oven safe dish (shape doesn’t really matter). Sprinkle remaining cheese over top and place in oven at 375 for 30-40 minutes or until cheese is lightly browned.

5. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

