Easy 4 Ingredient Chicken Marinade

Easy 4 Ingredient Marinade

Tuesday was one of those days that are miserably cold and rainy. The kind where everyone who’s walking around outside has their stank face on and eyebrows knitted together as if to help them remember why it was they decided to get out of bed this morning. And I was right there alongside them on my bike, only my eyebrows were knotted because I was struggling to see through the rain as I yelled at pedestrians to get out of the bike lane. Just kidding. My stank face did all the talking for me.

When I was finally done with classes for the day, I exchanged the bike for a car and made my way to H-E-B for some emergency grocery shopping. I love H-E-B because their produce always seems so much fresher. But if I’m honest, what I love most are their free samples. Tuesday was no exception, and I made sure to try every sample station I walked past (Don’t judge…I’m a college student). But everywhere I went, people seemed to be staring at me. Two people even gave me double takes. I started wondering if maybe the free samples weren’t free after all and I was about to be tackled for stealing the merchandise. I thought I was becoming paranoid.

And then the moment of enlightenment came. As I got into my car, I looked in the rear view mirror, only to see a big black splotch on my cheek looking back at me the size of a silver dollar. One mystery was solved, but the next one had already begun. How in the world did I get bike grease on my face? It’s not like I make a habit of rubbing my face on the gears. I also learned that H-E-B workers can’t be trusted to tell you there’s something on your face. I suppose maybe they thought I was making a fashion statement. But I’m not bitter. They give me free food. I’m loyal like that.

Even though I spent the entire drive back home laughing at myself like a maniac (now people were giving me weird looks for a different reason), I was not particularly motivated to cook a gourmet meal. Which is why things like marinades are the bee’s knees. All you have to do is think at least a few hours ahead so the meat can become saturated in flavorful heaven. And the best part? Marinades are typically much healthier. You don’t feel the need to add creamy or cheesy sauces, but aren’t stuck with a dry, rubbery chicken breast. See? Healthy food can be delicious too!

This one only has four ingredients. Which is a big draw for a college student like myself who is sharing a fridge with three other girls and doesn’t have a whole lot of room for condiments and such. Props for this recipe go to NoBiggie! I didn’t think this one up myself. This marinade has more of a sweet zing to it. I made enough for a couple chicken breasts, so the first time I tried it the chicken was hot. It was good, but I liked it much better when it was cold and I added it to a wrap. The flavor was much more pronounced!

4 Ingredient Chicken Marinade

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup oil
  • ½ cup soy sauce
  • ½ cup vinegar
  • 4 chicken breasts

Literally, all you need to do it mix these ingredients together and add the uncooked chicken. I put the chicken in a gallon size Ziploc bag and poured the marinade over it. Leave the chicken in there for at least a couple hours, or overnight to really let the chicken soak up the flavors!

photo 1

This would be awesome grilled! However, I don’t have a grill, so I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 25 minutes, or until it was cooked through. What you eat it with is up to you! Put together some sides or cut it up to use in a sandwich or salad!

photo 2

Leave a Reply

